Subscribe elementum semper nisi. Aenean vulputate eleifend tellus. Aenean leo ligula, porttitor eu, consequat vitae eleifend ac, enim. Aenean vulputate eleifend tellus.

[contact-form-7 id="984" html_class="cf7_custom_style_1"]

Subscribe elementum semper nisi. Aenean vulputate eleifend tellus. Aenean leo ligula, porttitor eu, consequat vitae eleifend ac, enim. Aenean vulputate eleifend tellus.

[contact-form-7 id="984" html_class="cf7_custom_style_1"]

ARLES 2018

CONTEMPLATION as part of the 2018 Rencontres d’Arles
From the 2nd of July until the 23rd of September

The Rencontres d’Arles 2018 are the first step of this itinerant project which has been designed to travel the world.

CONTEMPLATION is an exhibition of the photographs of the Buddhist thinker and monk, Matthieu Ricard: a composition of works in black and white and large format, printed on Japanese paper, whose production technique dates back 1400 years. these images are presented in an exceptional setting specially designed for the occasion: a pavilion made of bamboos, conceived by Colombia‐based team of architects Simón Veléz and Stefana Simic.

This monumental and unique installation of 1000m2 is set on the banks of the Rhône, facing the old city of Arles. This “Place of Serenity”, inviting us to discovery and contemplation, then becomes a passageway, a bridge between the arts and Matthieu Ricard’s commitment

CONTEMPLATION also becomes an creative encounter between classical music and meditation in the historical center of Arles: the Antique Theater. On the 28th and the 29th evenings, the pianist Maria João Pires performs preludes and fugues by Johann Sebastian Bach, in dialogue with Matthieu Ricard, for an intense and intimate experience leading us towards altruism and kindness; an artistic reflection on the values and thoughts of our time.

PAVILION CONTEMPLATION
Site SNCF de Trinquetaille
1, Quai de la Gare maritime
ENTRANCE BY THE RHÔNE’S SIDE
QUAI DE KALYMNOS – ARLES

  • Sketch of the Pavilion Contemplation, by Simón Vélez.

Subscribe elementum semper nisi. Aenean vulputate eleifend tellus. Aenean leo ligula, porttitor eu, consequat vitae eleifend ac, enim. Aenean vulputate eleifend tellus.

[contact-form-7 id="984" html_class="cf7_custom_style_1"]

Subscribe elementum semper nisi. Aenean vulputate eleifend tellus. Aenean leo ligula, porttitor eu, consequat vitae eleifend ac, enim. Aenean vulputate eleifend tellus.

[contact-form-7 id="984" html_class="cf7_custom_style_1"]

ARLES 2018

CONTEMPLATION aux Rencontres d’Arles 2018
Du 2 juillet au 23 septembre

Les Rencontres d’Arles accueillent CONTEMPLATION et deviennent la première étape de ce projet itinérant qui a vocation à parcourir le monde.

CONTEMPLATION présente l’exposition des photographies du penseur et moine bouddhiste Matthieu Ricard : une composition d’œuvres en noir et blanc et grand format, imprimées sur du papier japonais dont la technique de production remonte à 1400 ans. Ces images sont exposées dans une construction exceptionnelle spécialement conçue pour le projet : un Pavillon en bambou, imaginé par l’architecte colombien Simón Vélez et son associée Stefana Simic.

Cette installation monumentale et unique de 1000m2 prend racine au bord du Rhône, face à la vieille ville arlésienne. Ce « Lieu de sérénité » invitant à la découverte et au recueillement, devient alors un corridor, une passerelle, entre les arts et l’engagement de Matthieu Ricard.

CONTEMPLATION présente également une rencontre créative entre musique classique et méditation au coeur de l’écrin historique de la ville d’Arles : le Théâtre Antique. Les soirs des 28 et 29 juillet 2018, la pianiste Maria João Pires interprètera des préludes et fugues du Clavier bien Tempéré de Jean-Sébastien Bach, en dialogue avec Matthieu Ricard, pour une expérience intense et intime vers l’altruisme et la bienveillance ; une réflexion artistique sur les pensées et les valeurs de notre temps.

PAVILLON CONTEMPLATION
Site SNCF de Trinquetaille
1, Quai de la Gare maritime, 13200 Arles
ACCÈS PAR LE BORD DU RHÔNE
QUAI KALYMNOS

  • Croquis du Pavillon CONTEMPLATION par l’architecte Simón Vélez